Western PA Sprint Speedweek can be traced back to its inception in the summer of 1993. Challenger Raceway in Indiana, PA hosted the inaugural event on June 16th of that first year, and it was well-known racer Don Krietz, Jr capturing what would be his only speedweek win amidst its initial 8-year existence.

In total, eight different tracks hosted a total of thirty-two of speedweek races, spanning from 1993-2000. Previously sanctioned by the All Star Circuit of Champions, these races often hosted a showdown between the travelers of “America’s Series” and the top invaders out of the Central PA region.

Dale Blaney lays claim to 7 Western PA Speedweek victories, making him the all-time winningest driver in speedweek history, while twenty total drivers have captured at least one checkered flag.

Central Pennsylvania’s Ryan Smith and Bradley Howard were the two most recent miniseries winners in 2021, with Smith claiming back-to-back wins at Lernerville Speedway and Sharon Speedway. Howard’s victory at Tri City Raceway Park marked his 1st career ‘410 Sprint’ win.

Apollo, PA native A.J. Flick stole the show in 2022 with a clean sweep of the three completed races at Lernerville Speedway, Sharon Speedway and Tri City Raceway Park en route to his speedweek championship. The previous year’s champion Ryan Smith earned the runner-up honors on each occasion.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑